Education Village Academy Trust Members and Directors

Please click on link below for further information:-

Beaumont Hill Academy Monitoring Group (AMG)

Beaumont Hill Academy Monitoring Group

Purpose of the group:

To monitor progress against the Academy’s Post-Ofsted Action Plan (POAP) and to validate evidence of the impact of actions taken. 

To oversee and, where appropriate, determine any other activity aimed at moving the Academy from an Ofsted judgement of ‘Inadequate’ towards an Ofsted judgement of ‘Good’.


The Group will scrutinise the actions in the Academy Post-Ofsted Action Plan, ensuring they are aligned to the recommendations in the Ofsted report.  It will challenge the Principal and leaders in the Academy to take actions that will directly address, at pace, the issues Ofsted and other independent reviews (e.g. review of Governance, RSC visits, review of Safeguarding) highlight. 

The Beaumont Hill Academy Education Standards Committee is temporarily replaced by an Academy Monitoring Group (AMG).
Members of the AMG are: 

Mr Mike Butler - Trust Chief Executive

Mrs Hanne Barton - Member appointed 

Director Mr Kit Dixon - Board appointed Governor   

Mrs Karen McCarron - Parent Governor- Link to post 16

Mr Phil North - Board appointed Governor

Mr Jonathan Parkinson - Board appointed Governor

Mr Roy Patel - Board Appointed Governor and Chair of the AMG    

Councillor Heather Scott - Board appointed Governor 

Chris Ashford - Board Appointed Governor and Safeguarding Link  

Mrs Caroline Green - Principal 

Mr Adrian Lynch - Deputy Principal 

Also in attendance are: 

Ms Gemma Elysee - Senior Assistant Headteacher 

Term of office

Membership of the Group will last until the Board of Directors considers it has achieved its objective and no longer needs to meet.  The Board has suggested the Group is likely to be required for between six and twelve months.


The Group will be accountable, and report progress, to the Board of Directors.

A report will be provided at scheduled Board meetings and in-between during meetings between the Chief Executive and the Chair of the Board (fortnightly).

If required, Group members should be available to meet with the HMI conducting any Monitoring Visit.


The Group will review its purpose, role and functions following the first Ofsted monitoring visit (due 3-6 months after the inspection).  It will provide a report to the Board of Directors.

Ways of working:

The Group will adopt a shared approach to hold the Academy Leadership to account at meetings.  Some Group members will lead on specific areas such as Safeguarding, Pupil Premium or any other priority identified in the Ofsted report or during the course of meetings, linking with relevant Academy leaders.

The Group may convene sub-committees to scrutinise a particular issue or subject.  Any sub-committee would report back into the wider Group.


The frequency of meetings will be determined by the Group at its first meeting but in the first instance should be monthly.  Meetings will be held at the Education Village.

The Trust will provide a Clerk who will prepare an Agenda in collaboration with the Chair.  Any member of the Group can suggest an agenda item or, if the matter is too late to be included in the agenda, can ask for it to be tabled as an item of other business at the start of the meeting.

The Clerk will prepare papers and circulate them ahead of each meeting.

The Clerk will draft minutes of each meeting for approval at the next.

The minutes will be made available to any stakeholder or interested person outside of the Group on request to the Clerk. 

Sharing of information:

The Group will proactively share information with:

·         The Board of Directors via the Chair

·         Academy staff via the Principal

·         Parents and carers via newsletters and the Academy website

·         The LA and the RSC are represented on the Group and will feed back to their organisations via their own internal processes.

The Group may consider providing updates or reporting progress to other forums (e.g. local media) either exceptionally or as a matter of course.

Contact Details:

If you have any queries relating to governance or wish to contact any of the members, directors or governors, please contact:-

Alana Mackenzie, Governor Development Officer.

By telephone: 01325 248156

By e-mail:

By post: The Education Village, Salters Lane South, Darlington, DL1 2AN