Directors and Governors

Welcome from the Chair of the Board of Directors


Thank you for taking an interest in the Education Village Academy Trust. The Trust firmly believes that all young people deserve the best possible education and we want every pupil attending one of our Academies to fulfil their potential and go on to become successful and happy young people and adults.

To achieve this the Board of Directors and Governors take an active interest in its Academies, supporting staff, holding Principals to account and monitoring achievement and the learning environment.

The Board meets at least once a term to review the strategic direction of the Trust. It delegates the day to day oversight of its Academies to five Education Standards Committees and also has separate committees to ensure the Trust’s budgets and resources are used effectively and in line with the interest of our students and the requirements of the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA).

Directors and Governors all work to ensure the Academies are operating successfully and following relevant legislation. We are committed to doing everything we can to ensure that our students are confident and qualified to go out and be personally successful whilst making a contribution to society.

If you want to learn more about the role of Directors and Governors, or to request the minutes of a meeting, please get in touch with our Governance Support Officer Alana Mackenzie (

Helen Radcliffe

Chair of the Board Directors, Education Village Academy Trust

Education Village Academy Trust Members and Directors


Mr Kevin Duffy
Mr Tim Fisher
Mr Ken Fraser
Cllr Heather Scott
Mrs Helen Radcliffe


Mr Chris Ashford - Member appointed
Mr Mike Butler - Chief Executive
Mr Kit Dixon - Member appointed
Mrs Helen Radcliffe (Chair) - Member appointed
Mr Raman Sanghera - Member appointed
Mrs Shirley Welsh (Vice Chair) - Member appointed
You can find out more about our Directors here

Haughton Academy Education Standards Committee

Mrs Helen Conley - Board appointed Governor
Dr Leslie Fox - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Jenny Gregg - Staff Governor
Mr Andrew Hinnigan - Staff Governor
Mr Laurence Job - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Davina Jones - Board appointed Governor
Ms Jenny Joyce (Chair) - Parent Governor
Mr Michael Longstaff - Board appointed Governor 
Mr Jonathan Lumb - Principal

Springfield Academy Education Standards Committee

Mr Martin Brader (Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Mr Ben Parnaby - Staff Governor
Mr Richard Gartland - Principal
Mrs Chris Archer - Board Appointed Governor 
Mr John Perry - Board Appointed Governor
Mr Graham Wood - Parent Governor

Beaumont Hill Academy Education Standards Committee

Mr Kit Dixon - Board appointed Governor  
Mrs Karen McCarron - Parent Governor
Mr Phil North - Board appointed Governor
Mr Roy Patel (Chair) - Board Appointed Governor   
Councillor Heather Scott - Board appointed Governor
Mr Chris Ashford - Board Appointed Governor and Safeguarding Link 
Mrs Caroline Green - Principal
Mr Adrian Lynch - Deputy Principal
Mrs Margaret Farrow - Board Appointed Governor 

Gurney Pease Academy Education Standards Committee

Mr Paul Bartle - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Jenny Finn - Staff Governor
Mr Ben Hodgkiss - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Alison Sinclair - Principal
Mrs Shirley Welsh (Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Ms Judith Bailey - Board Appointed Governor
Mrs Germaine Holmes - Board Appointed Governor

Marchbank Free School Education Standards Committee

Mrs Elizabeth Bell - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Jenny Francis - Board appointed Governor
Mr Nigel Little - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Liz McAllister (Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Mr Bill Oldfield – Board appointed Governor
Mr Sam Calvert - Staff Governor
Mrs Tess Wright - Head of School
Mrs Wendy Turpin (Vice Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Mr Chris Greenwell - Board Appointed Governor 

Trust Scheme of Delegation

Scheme of delegation

Register of Governor and Director Business Interests

Please click on the link below to view the register.

Business and Pecuniary Interests 2017 - 2018

Record of Governor Appointees

Governance Record of Appointees 2017-2018

Record of Governor attendance at meetings

Governance Record of Attendance at Meetings 2017-2018

If you have any queries relating to governance or wish to contact any of the members, directors or governors, please contact Alana Mackenzie, Governor Development Officer.  

By telephone: 01325 248156

By e-mail:

By post: The Education Village, Salters Lane South, Darlington, DL1 2AN