Trustees and Governors

Welcome from the Chair of the Board of Trustees


Thank you for taking an interest in the Education Village Academy Trust. The Trust firmly believes that all young people deserve the best possible education and we want every pupil attending one of our Academies to fulfil their potential and go on to become successful and happy young people and adults.

To achieve this the Board of Trustees and Governors take an active interest in its Academies, supporting staff, holding Principals to account and monitoring achievement and the learning environment.

The Board meets each half term to review the strategic direction of the Trust. It delegates the day to day oversight of its Academies to five Education Standards Committees and also has separate committees to ensure the Trust’s budgets and resources are used effectively and in line with the interest of our students and the requirements of the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA).

Trustees and Governors all work to ensure the Academies are operating successfully and following relevant legislation. We are committed to doing everything we can to ensure that our students are confident and qualified to go out and be personally successful whilst making a contribution to society.

If you want to learn more about the role of Trustees and Governors, or to request the minutes of a meeting, please get in touch with our Governance Support Officer Alana Mackenzie (

Helen Radcliffe

Chair of the Board Trustees, Education Village Academy Trust

Education Village Academy Trust Members and Trustees


Mr Kevin Duffy
Mr Tim Fisher
Mr Ken Fraser
Mrs Joan Low 

Mr Raman Sanghera


Mr Chris Ashford - Member appointed
Mr Mike Butler - Chief Executive
Mr Kit Dixon - Member appointed
Mr Tim Hedger-Gourlay - Member appointed
Mr Ed James - Member appointed
Mr Scott Smith - Member appointed
Mrs Helen Radcliffe (Chair) - Member appointed
Mr Steve Clapham - Member appointed
Mrs Shirley Welsh (Vice Chair) - Member appointed

You can find out more about our Trustees here: EVAT Trustees - September 2021

Finance, Audit, Risk and Resources Committee:

Mr Mike Butler - Chief Executive
Mr Kit Dixon (Chair) - Member appointed
Mr Tim Hedger-Gourlay - Board appointed
Mr Ed James - Board appointed

Mr Steven Clapham - Board appointed

Mrs Helen Radcliffe - Member appointed

Haughton Academy Education Standards Committee

Mrs Helen Conley - Board appointed Governor
Dr Leslie Fox - (Chair) Board appointed Governor
Miss Stephanie Hall - Staff Governor
Mr Laurence Job - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Davina Jones - Board appointed Governor

Mr Simon Loveridge - (Vice Chair) Board appointed Governor
Mr Jonathan Lumb - Principal
Mr Richard McMann - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Kirsty Whitehouse - Parent Governor
Mrs Helen Whitton - Board appointed Governor

Springfield Academy Education Standards Committee

Dr Martin Brader (Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Lynne Simpson - Staff Governor
Mr Richard Gartland - Principal
Mrs Chris Archer (Vice Chair) - Board appointed Governor 

Mrs Joan Mitchie - Board appointed Governor
Mr Jonathan Stout - Board appointed Governor

Ms Rebecca Charlton - Parent Governor

Ms Natalie Dullage - Board appointed Governor

Beaumont Hill Academy Education Standards Committee

Mrs Elizabeth Bell - (Chair) Board appointed Governor
Mr Kit Dixon - (Vice Chair) Board appointed Governor  

Ms Sam McCormick - Staff governor
Councillor Heather Scott - Board appointed Governor
Mr Chris Ashford - Board appointed Governor and Safeguarding Link 
Mrs Caroline Green - Executive Principal
Mrs Margaret Farrow - Board appointed Governor

Ms Jenny Joyce - Board appointed Governor

Mr David Hall - Parent Governor

Gurney Pease Academy Education Standards Committee

Mrs Jenny Gregg (Chair) - Board appointed Governor

Mrs Jenny Finn - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Alison Sinclair - Principal
Mr Rob Dodsworth - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Germaine Holmes (Vice Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Mr Neil Scollick - Parent Governor

Laurence Ashley - Board appointed Governor

Louis Bloomfield - Board Appointed Governor

Marchbank Free School Education Standards Committee

Mrs Jenny Francis - Board appointed Governor
Mr Nigel Little - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Liz McAllister (Chair) - Board appointed Governor
Mr Bill Oldfield – Board appointed Governor
Mr Chris Ashford - Board appointed Governor
Mrs Wendy Turpin (Vice Chair) - Board appointed Governor
David Hall - Parent Governor

Ms Kimberley Malcolm - Parent Governor

Sally Raine - Staff Governor

Mr Germaine Holmes - Board appointed Governor

Caroline Green - Executive Principal

Trust Scheme of Delegation

Trust Scheme of Delegation November 2020

Register of Governor and Trustee Business Interests

Please click on the link below to view the register.

- EVAT Register of Interest - V1.3.pdf

Record of Governor Appointees

Governance Record of Appointees 2019-2020

Record of Governor attendance at meetings

Governance Record of Attendance at Meetings 2019 - 2020

If you have any queries relating to governance or wish to contact any of the members, directors or governors, please contact Alana Mackenzie, Governor Development Officer.  

By telephone: 01325 248156

By e-mail:

By post: The Education Village, Salters Lane South, Darlington, DL1 2AN